Pool Club


This club commenced in 1976 under the leadership of Dianne Frumau and Graham Milverton.
Members put in enough money to buy a pool table and as finance became available the boat club purchased the table and reimbursed the members.
Today the pool club owns two slate tables which are available to be used at anytime outside of pool club activities.
Member numbers remained reasonably constant over the years and today there are approx 30 financial members. To become a member of the pool club one has to be a member of the boat club.
The season commences the first Thursday in March, 7pm start and runs through until December when a Xmas dinner and prize giving is held.
Annual home and away games are played against Foxton and Palmerston North RSA.
Peter Jamieson (a member from the clubs inception to the current day) has donated “The Peter Jamieson Trophy” played for between Foxton RSA and the club.
Hermann Lieleveld, a German and bar manager of the Boat Club donated a trophy in 1994 “The Hermes Trophy”. This is a doubles competition and partners are drawn.
Hermie was a real character with a great singing voice and would entertain patrons while he worked.
Since the year 2000 we have played for the Memorial Trophy, a singles competition in honour of financial members who have passed on.
These menbers were:
Hermann Lieleveld
Ted Jamieson
Randall Illingworth
Robin Malton
Carol Kirton
Jeanne Welch
Russell Gray
The third trophy “Top Dog” was donated by the late Neil Burns in 1991 and at a later date a shield for the runner up. These are competed for over the pool season.
These are fun nights, enjoyed by men and women so if you are a member  of the boat club come along and join up for a small fee.
The committee president is John Bary
Ph 06 363 7550